Musings of a PR Professional



PR Job Ads

Part of our assignment for next class was to just search around on the Internet and look up various ads for jobs in the PR field. One reccuring theme that unnerved me a little bit: LOTS OF EXPERIENCE NEEDED. Maybe I was just missing the entry-level position job ads but the lowest amount of experience I ever found was 1-2 years. I hope internships count!

I feel like I’m getting so much experience already just through this blog. The way it has connected me to veterans, if you will, in the PR field makes me feel as though I’m learning things much more practical and useful than theory out of a textbook. It seems like PR is a field that is very active on the Internet and if that’s the case then I’m already stepping into the thick of things!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * prprofmv says:

    Yes, internships do count!

    Your unique strategic advantage will be that you can combine serious theoretical knowledge with practical knowledge from “PR veterans.”

    The theoretical knowledge will help you think through problems and come up with solid, research-based solutions. Skills without deep and proper “higher level” understanding like the kind theory allows you can be plain and simple DANGEROUS.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 9 months ago


Leave a Reply

