Musings of a PR Professional



BeingEryn

Today in class, Dr.V introduced us to Cheryl Harrison, a senior at Captial University in Columbus, OH. Why did Dr. V lead us to another student? Because this girl has something to say. Not only is her resume and site design very impressive, her posts contain a lot of great ideas.

But, it’s definitely not the conent that kept me at her site, perusing through blog posts. What caught my attention (and kept it) was her writting style. Cheryl Harrison has attitude and gives it to you everytime. To me, she’s an inspiration and I can sum up why in one word: Uninhibited.

Her in-your-face insights to the social media world don’t sound like those of a intimidated college student. She sounds like the most confident person in the world, and I want to sound like that too. I want to write blog posts about public relations, social media tools and current events and not worry about what everyone else will think or if I’m right or wrong (and a $125k salary right out of college wouldn’t be so bad either).

So, from this point on, I vow to start taking myself (and this blog) a lot more seriously.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Honey, I’m home! « Erin Martin’s Weblog pingbacked on 8 years, 5 months ago

Comments

  1. * prprofmv says:

    LOL, Erin!

    I can’t wait to see what happens when you take this blog a lot more seriously! ’cause you’ve been doing pretty well so far!

    But yes, blogging encourages you to take responsibility for your ideas and to speak your mind. Isn’t that a wonderful thing to learn in college?

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  2. Thanks for checking me out! I might use your rave review of my writing on my site to boost my ego a little further 😉 LOL

    And IMHO, your blog seems pretty solid so keep going with it! Good luck with future posts and career stuff. I wish our school had professors that forced students to engage in social media. I taught a class on social media a few weeks ago and no one had a freakin’ clue what a blog, RSS feed, etc. etc. was. Probably a bad sign.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 7 months ago


Leave a Reply

